TGIF // 08


Trust: Lately, I’m really trying to trust my body. Trying to remind myself that pregnancy is normal and that billions of women have been pregnant and survived. I love this quote from Ina May Gaskin:

“Remember this, for it is as true as true gets: Your body is not a lemon. You are not a machine. The Creator is not a careless mechanic….Even if it has not been your habit throughout your life so far, I recommend that you learn to think positively about your body.”

Gratitude: This week I’m feeling grateful for my Mom. Mother’s Day is Sunday, and because she’s in WI and I’m in TX we never get to spend it together – but it doesn’t mean I’m not thinking of her. She’s always willing to listen to my problems or complaints, and still babies me a bit by feeling sorry for me – which, come on, everyone needs that sometimes. Also, now that I’m 7 months pregnant I have a whole new appreciation for her (and all moms)…and I’m sure that appreciation and gratitude will only continue to expand over the coming years.

InspirationThis podcast episode. “The best self help is self compassion.”

Faith: I recently came across the work of a man named Richard Rohr. He’s a Catholic Franciscan priest with some really interesting and fresh perspectives on Christianity and religion. Recently, he was interviewed on a great podcast called “On Being.” If you have an hour I highly recommend you listen. He and the podcast host, Krista Tippett, talk about a wide range of topics such as dualistic vs. non-dualistic thinking (specifically in Christianity/religion but also in our general culture), how Jesus was the first non-dualistic religious thinker of the West, how life has changed for the current generation vs. pre-1968, a concept Rohr dubbed “father hunger” and the implications of raising men in today’s society, the wonder and awe of nature and how that ties into our spiritual experience, among many other things.

I was mostly interested in the portion on dualistic vs. non-dualistic thinking because I think dualistic thinking is such a sickness in our culture and current political and religious climate. It was refreshing to hear my own recent thoughts articulated well by someone else, and to know that there are other young people who are interested and exploring this concept of non-dualism (not that Rohr is young, he’s 73, but he talks about a recent retreat he held for millennials). Regardless of how you identify (religious or not, liberal or conservative, etc.) – I think this podcast will speak to you in some way or another. There’s an edited and unedited version – of course I recommend the unedited (and yes, I listened to both – I’ve never claimed to be cool).

That’s it! Hope you all have a great weekend. And Happy Mother’s Day ❤

One thought on “TGIF // 08

  1. Wish I could have all my kids home for Mother’s Day. Miss you too. Next year you’ll be celebrating this day with a little one of your own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

