TGIF // 06

16585013_1105208179590741_2107776602334035968_n
Illustration by Austin Kleon

Happy Friday!! Isn’t that little illustration good? So simple and so true. I hope you’ve all had a good week, I’m looking forward to the weekend. Brent and I are going to do some work on the nursery, which is currently serving as the music room. We’re going to have to find space for all of our instruments…and possibly purge a lot of junk in the process. Getting rid of stuff is one of our favorite things to do though so it’s all good, haha.

This week I’m trusting that there are really good people in the world who are showing love to the people around them. Like this teacher who greets each one of his 5th graders with a unique handshake. I mean…maybe it’s the pregnancy hormones, but I def teared up a little.

Lately, I’m grateful for Austin winters. Growing up in Wisconsin makes you appreciate living in a place that never really drops below 20 degrees and has, on average, 300 days of sunshine a year. The mornings have been chilly here (like 30s to 40s) but by the afternoon we’re in the 70s and it’s sunny and wonderful. Sorry to rub it in if you’re in a tundra, just know I’m not taking it for granted!

This week I’ve been having fun finding decor inspiration for the nursery. I’ve been pinning ideas, and even though we’re keeping it simple it’s fun to look and be excited about the little stuff. There are so many scary things I could focus on so looking at cute baby stuff helps. I’m planning on painting an accent wall this weekend – thinking something like this:

Close up, front view of small black triangle vinyl wall decals on white wall behind baby playing in white painted crib.

Also planning on doing a mini version of this book shelf idea, because MY CHILD WILL LOVE BOOKS:

Book Display:

And lastly, faith. I’ve been reading a lot about contemplative prayer – it’s pretty interesting and I’d like to start incorporating it into my day. After doing some basic research on it I see that it’s a pretty hot topic in the “Christian community” (whatever that really is). It’s funny that some people are scared of it and call it un-biblical or un-scriptural. Do some Google searches and see for yourself. It sounds refreshing to me!

I hope you all have a great weekend. I’m planning to start my digital detox on Monday – let me know if you plan on doing one, I’d love to hear how it goes.

-Marci

3 thoughts on “TGIF // 06

  1. I like Austin Kleon’s illustration of that Goethe quote! I’m definitely hearing a lot of “little” songs today! That video of the teacher with individual handshakes for his students was so good! I haven’t heard of contemplative prayer? I’m going to do some Googles and see what it’s all about! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

