book report // 09

girl with flowers

september started off slow for me. i dont think i started reading anything until after my birthday (the 19th) – but i’ve been reading a lot since then.

i can really tell my friends and family know me well, because i received about 7 different books for my birthday. brent asks every year what i want, and i always tell him “just get me a book.” i think he thinks i’m being humble or low-maintenance or something, because i never ask for anything very grand. but i’m serious when i ask for a book – it’s the best gift. books give me a ridiculous amount of joy…especially real books, physical books, i’m not the kindle type. and yes, i’ve tried one. used to have one…gave it away.

so here is what i read in september:

my salinger year by joanna rakoff – this book was not entirely what i expected it to be, but i liked it. it’s an interesting, cozy, coming-of-age memoir. i read it in a day or two. if you’re looking for a good fall read i’d suggest it.

why not me? by mindy kaling – i love mindy kaling. i devoured her first memoir and passed it around to friends and family. this is her latest one that just came out this year. my sister, karissa, sent it to me for my birthday and i read this one just as fast as the first. i laughed out loud a lot…i just love her sense of humor and off-hand remarks about things. quick, easy, enjoyable read.

a poetry handbook by mary oliver – i’m kind of picky about poetry, but i love mary oliver. many times when i’m reading good poetry i’ll stop and think….i could write something like this. so when i saw this book at the thrift store i picked it up thinking it would encourage me to try my hand at poetry. i read through the book, still feeling confident….and then i sat down in front of a blank page. WRITING POETRY IS HARD. very hard. try to write some, you’ll find a whole new respect for your favorite poets.

i feel like i’m forgetting one more that i may have read…if so i’ll just include it in next month’s list. i’m currently reading one thousand gifts by ann voskamp. she’s a little flowery in her language, but the main point of the book is really encouraging me. i’ll write more about it in the october book report.

as always, feel free to send suggestions my way!

p.s. the picture is of a painting i did awhile ago – i’ve been posting art on a new instagram account – follow along at @marci.eliza

Leave a Reply

