gilead

sky2

i have wandered to the limits of my understanding any number of times, out into that desolation, that horeb, that kansas, and i’ve scared myself, too, a good many times, leaving all landmarks behind me, or so it seemed. and it has been among the true pleasures of my life. night and light, silence and difficulty, it seemed to me always rigorous and good…

though i must say all this has given me a new glimpse of the ongoingness of the world. we fly forgotten as a dream, certainly, leaving the forgetful world behind us to trample and mar and misplace everything we have ever cared for. that is just the way of it, and it is remarkable.

gilead | pg. 191
by marilynne robinson

Leave a Reply

