book report // 03

this post is a little late, but here’s what i read during the month of march. i liked them all but “a field guide to getting lost” was by far my favorite. i checked this one out from the library, and am now determined to get my own copy so that i can highlight, underline, and mark it up as much as i want. there were so many beautiful lines and insights…i’d definitely recommend it to anyone looking for one of those books that shows you the world in a beautiful new light. i can’t wait to check out her other books, her intelligence is palpable.

a field guide to getting lost by rebecca solnit:

field guide

crazy love by francis chan: this one was good, the author’s way of writing/speaking kind of annoyed me at times, but the book definitely caused me to have some revelations. if you’re feeling in a rut spiritually, then it might offer some inspirations.

may cause miracles by gabrielle bernstein: this book was so cheesy. but i loved it. it’s not really about any specific religion or spirituality, but it helped my spiritual life so much. it focuses a lot on the ego, and letting go of jealousies or selfish ambitions. it also focuses on surrendering to your higher power and really trusting that you’ll be taken care of. being the control freak that i am, this was a good exercise for me. I hope to continue to use some of the exercises, meditations, and prayers that were in this book.

the book of ruth by jane hamilton: the only way i can describe this book is beautifully tragic, which might sound like a cliche. but if you read it…you’ll know.

march books

it’s spring here in texas. today it’s foggy and gray, and the wildflowers are in full bloom. it’s become my favorite time of year in this state. the blues, oranges, yellows, and pinks of spring make up for the lackluster color in the fall. it’s beautiful. hope you have a relaxing weekend, and if you have any book suggestions please leave a comment below!

blues

xox

Marci

2 thoughts on “book report // 03

  1. Hi Marci, I really like your blog. I’ll have to check out some of these books. I have read crazy love which I felt was helpful because I need to remember how crazy God’s love is for me. We had a beautiful day up North. 70 degrees. Spent the day outside. Love you, Mom

  2. book report // 04 – the look-see

Leave a Reply

